VLV 32nd Spring Conference 2015 - Updated 1 June

Tuesday 2nd June 2015 10:30 - Tuesday 2nd June 2015 15:45


What next for Public Service Broadcasting?

VLV’s Spring Conference gives early opportunity to consider post-Election implications


The Voice of the Listener and Viewer (VLV) has announced the speakers for its 32nd Annual Spring Conference, together with nominations for its Annual Awards. The Conference and Awards Ceremony will take place on 2 June at the Geological Society in Piccadilly.


Read latest programme here

BBC Director of News James Harding opens the conference, talking about his vision for BBC News as the debate starts in earnest about the BBC's Charter Review and licence fee settlement.  ITV's Director of Television Peter Fincham looks at the PSB landscape from ITV's perspective and Siobhan Kenny, Chief Executive of the RadioCentre discusses where commercial radio fits.  Writer and broadcaster Trevor Dann joins her.  Session chairs are Robin Lustig, Torin Douglas and Gillian Reynolds. Steve Hewlett will chair a panel session including Chris Bryant,  Shadow Secretary of Stae for Culture, Media and Sport, former BBC Trustee Richard Tait and media analyst Dr Alice Enders looking at what the election results and appointment of John Whittingdale as Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport means for public service broadcasting.


Colin Browne, VLV Chairman, said: ‘Broadcasting is entering another period of radical change, driven by market, technological and political considerations. This Conference will give us an early opportunity to take stock following the General Election.’


VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting 2014


During the conference the VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting 2014 will  be presented by James Naughtie.  These awards are always valued by the recipients as they are nominated and voted for by VLV members - their viewers and listeners.  Read the full list of nominations hereThe winners will be announced on 2 June.  VLV is grateful for the support from Roberts Radio and Arqiva for the Awards.  Three new awards will be presented this year:  Digital Radio Station of the year, Digital Television Station of the Year and Most Innovative Contribution to the use of Digital Media.  Two Special Awards, in the gift of the Trustees, will also be announced - the Naomi Sargant Award and the Special Award for a major contribution to Public Service Broadcasting.


Book here for the conference using eventbritelogo.png


⇐ Back to Events