VLV Spring Conference and Awards 2017

Wednesday 26th April 2017 10:30 - Wednesday 26th April 2017 16:00

VLV’s Spring Conference and Awards for Excellence in broadcasting will be held on Wednesday April 26th at the Geological Society in Piccadilly between 10.30 am and 4.00pm.   Tickets for the event can be booked here 

At a time of major change throughout the western world, the VLV Spring Conference, How to Ensure the Citizen Dividend; Public Service Broadcasting in a Digital Age, will provide an opportunity to consider further the role of public service broadcasting in providing a trusted source of information and knowledge. Conference sessions will cover Alternative Facts and Post Truth and BBC Regulation and Accountability.   

The conference will provide VLV members and colleagues to ask questions of the guest speakers including Damian Collins MP, Chairman of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee and Fran Unsworth, Director, BBC World Service Group and Deputy Director of BBC News and Current Affairs.

Journalist and author Matthew d’Ancona  will be participating in a session on Alternative Facts and Post Truth Broadcasting, joining a panel that includes Jane Martinson, Head of Media at The Guardian and chaired by Roger Bolton of BBC Radio. Matthew's book on the post truth era will be published in early May.

Tony Close, Director of Content Standards, Licensing and Enforcementat Ofcomwill be discussing BBC regulation and accountability in the new Charter era, on a panel that includes Richard Ayre, shortly to be stepping down as a BBC Trustee.  

The Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting 2016 will be presented by Sir Tony Robinson during the conference.  


Nominations for the annual VLV awards, which will be presented by Sir Tony Robinson during the conference, have been announced. They celebrate many aspects of broadcasting, across television and radio, and are nominated and voted for by VLV members – the viewers and listeners of this content.

Last year’s winners included Wolf Hall for best television drama programme; best individual contributors were awarded to Jon Snow for television and James Naughtie for radio and From Our Own Correspondent scooped the best radio news and factual programme.  

Additionally there will be two awards chosen by VLV’s Trustees - the Naomi Sargant Award for someone who has contributed to the field of education and VLV’s Special Award for a major contribution to public service broadcasting. Previous winners of the Trustees’ Special Award are Sir David Attenborough and Gillian Reynolds. 

The full list of nominees for the 2016 awards can be read here


⇐ Back to Events