VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting

 Sir David Attenborough and Sir Tony RobinsonAde Rawcliffe C4 Paralympics


Sir David Attenborough, Channel 4's Rio Paralympics, Ade Adepitan, Helen Boaden, Planet Earth II and the Today Programme among the winners in this year's VLV awards for excellence in broadcasting

The Voice of the Listener & Viewer (VLV) award winners’ ceremony, hosted by Sir Tony Robinson, took place on Wednesday 26 April 2017 in London during VLV’s Annual Spring Conference.  

The VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting 2016 were presented across many aspects of television and radio with programmes, individuals and channels nominated and voted for by VLV members – their viewers and listeners.   The winners included The Night Manager, Planet Earth II, Channel 4's Paralympics coverage, Today and I’m Sorry I haven’t a Clue.  Individual Awards were presented to Sir David Attenborough, Ade Adepitan, the late Steve Hewlett and Helen Boaden.  picture

Colin Browne, Chairman of VLV, said “Despite the huge challenges and seismic changes in the broadcasting industry, these awards demonstrate that 2016 was a stellar year creatively, providing a range of quality and diverse programmes for listeners and viewers. The winners include some of the greatest names in broadcasting, alongside exciting newcomers. We know they really appreciate awards voted by listeners and viewers; we in turn are grateful for the pleasure they bring us.”




Best Drama Programme The Night Manager   BBC/ The Ink Factory 

Best TV News and Factual Programme Planet Earth II   BBC One picture

Best TV Children’s Programme Horrible Histories  CBBC/ Lion Television

Best TV Arts and Entertainment Programme University Challenge BBC Two

Best TV Individual Contributor Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE picture


Best Drama and Comedy Programme I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue  BBC Radio 4 picture

Best Radio News and Factual Programme Today   BBC Radio 4

Best Music and Arts Programme Front Row   BBC Radio 4 picture

Best individual contributor to Radio the late Steve Hewlett

Special Awards

The Naomi Sargant Award – Ade Adepitan

The VLV Award for Innovation – Channel 4’s coverage of the Rio Paralympics picture

The VLV Special Award – Helen Boaden

Published by: VLV

⇐ Back to News